You are here

English 110

20th Century Poetry and Fiction

Length of Course: One semester (14 weeks)

Classroom Hours per Week:  4 classroom hours per week (a mixture of lecture and seminar)

Number of Credit Units: 3 credits

Prerequisite: English 12 with a C+ or higher, or English 100 with a C or higher, or English 101


Description of Course

English 110 is the study of twentieth-century poetry and short fiction and of the principles and practice of expository composition. A student will learn to read with a knowledgeable awareness of the relation of technique and form to meaning. Through immersion in the best of Western literature, and through the expression of interpretative and evaluative responses, a student will move toward cultural literacy and the ideal of universal public discourse.

Written Assignments:  Students will complete three written assignments (of about 600 words each) and one longer take-home essay (of about 1500 words)


Evaluation

Written assignments 60%
Presentation 10%
Participation and Attendance 5%
Final Examination 25%

Textbooks

Ann Charters. The Story and Its Writer. (6th edition). Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s.
Gary Geddes. Twentieth Century Poetry & Poetics. Oxford.


Transferability

UBC English first year, SFU English 102 or English 101, UVic English 122


Instructors

Steve Barnes, B.Sc. (Alberta), M.A. (British Columbia) sbarnes@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Zeferino Cabrita, B.A., B.F.A., M.A. (British Columbia) zcabrita@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Dilek Cansin, B.A. (Macalester College), M.A. (British Columbia) dcansin@columbiacollege.bc.
Debra Clarke, B.Sc., M.A., TESL Cert (British Columbia) dclarke@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leah Kaser, B.A. (British Columbia), M.Ed. (Lesley College) lkaser@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Angela Lavery, B.A., B.Ed., (Toronto), M.A. (British Columbia) alavery@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Nicola Maher, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Sussex) nmaher@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leslie Mercer, B.A.(British Columbia), M.A. (University College Dublin) lmercer@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Denis Roberts, B.A., P.D.P., M.A. (Simon Fraser) droberts@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Jim Smith, B.Ed., M.Ed. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jsmith@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Gary Swanson, B.A. (Simon Fraser), M.A. (British Columbia) gswanson@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Julie Karey, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jkarey@columbiacollege.bc.ca