You are here

English 131

Introduction to Drama

Length of Course: One semester (14 weeks)

Classroom Hours per Week: 4 classroom hours per week (a mixture of lecture and seminar)

Number of Credit Units: 3 credits

Prerequisite: English 12 with a C+ or higher, or English 100 with a C or higher, or English 101


Description of Course

English 131 is a study of the development of western drama from the Greeks to contemporary theatre. The plays will be discussed with reference to context - in terms of the origins and growth of drama as literature and theatre – and in terms of literary analysis. Students will apply the principles of effective composition writing to drama.


Evaluation

Three papers 45%
Shorter Assignments 10%
Participation and Attendance  5%
Presentation 10%
Final Examination 30%

Textbooks

The instructor will select a number of plays for study. Current instructor outlines are available from the English Department.


Transferability

See www.bctransferguide.ca


Instructors

Steve Barnes, B.Sc. (Alberta), M.A. (British Columbia) sbarnes@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Zeferino Cabrita, B.A., B.F.A., M.A. (British Columbia) zcabrita@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Dilek Cansin, B.A. (Macalester College), M.A. (British Columbia) dcansin@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Debra Clarke, B.Sc., M.A., TESL Cert (British Columbia) dclarke@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Julie Karey, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jkarey@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leah Kaser, B.A. (British Columbia), M.Ed. (Lesley College) lkaser@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Angela Lavery, B.A., B.Ed., (Toronto), M.A. (British Columbia) alavery@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Nicola Maher, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Sussex) nmaher@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leslie Mercer, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (University College Dublin) lmercer@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Denis Roberts, B.A., P.D.P., M.A. (Simon Fraser) droberts@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Jim Smith, B.Ed., M.Ed. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jsmith@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Gary Swanson, B.A. (Simon Fraser), M.A. (British Columbia) gswanson@columbiacollege.bc.ca