You are here

English 215

Popular Fiction

Length of Course: One semester (14 weeks)

Classroom Hours Per Week: 4 classroom hours per week (a mixture of lecture and seminar)

Number of Credits: 3 credits

Prerequisites: 6 credits of university level English, to include one of English 100 or 101 and one of English 108, 110, 121 or 131 and 12 credits


Description of Course

English 215 is a study of popular prose fiction from the 19th and 20th centuries with a focus in any given semester on a specific genre to be determined by the instructor. Possible genres for consideration are gothic, historical, speculative, science fiction and other popular forms of fiction.


Written Assignments

Students will complete two short in-class essays (of about 600 words) and one longer take-home essay (of about 1500 words)


Evaluation

Two Short Essays (in-class) 30%
One Long Essay (take-home) 20%
Seminar Work 15%
Final Examination 35%

Textbooks

To be determined by instructor


Transferability

UBC English 227, SFU English 105, UVic English 201


Instructors

Steve Barnes, B.Sc. (Alberta), M.A. (British Columbia) sbarnes@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Zeferino Cabrita, B.A., B.F.A., M.A. (British Columbia) zcabrita@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Dilek Cansin, B.A. (Macalester College), M.A. (British Columbia) dcansin@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Debra Clarke, B.Sc., M.A., TESL Cert (British Columbia) dclarke@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Julie Karey, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jkarey@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leah Kaser, B.A. (British Columbia), M.Ed. (Lesley College) lkaser@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Angela Lavery, B.A., B.Ed., (Toronto), M.A. (British Columbia) alavery@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Nicola Maher, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Sussex) nmaher@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leslie Mercer, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (University College Dublin) lmercer@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Denis Roberts, B.A., P.D.P., M.A. (Simon Fraser) droberts@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Jim Smith, B.Ed., M.Ed. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jsmith@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Gary Swanson, B.A. (Simon Fraser), M.A. (British Columbia) gswanson@columbiacollege.bc.ca