You are here

English 220

English Literature From the Restoration

Length of Course: One semester (14 weeks)

Classroom Hours per Week: 4 classroom hours per week (a mixture of lecture and seminar)

Number of Credits: 3 credits

Prerequisites: 6 first year credits in English, to include one of English 100 or 101, and one of English 108, 110, 121 or 131 with a minimum grade of C, and 12 credits


Description of Course

This course is a study of the history of English literature from the Restoration to the present day.


Written Assignments

Students will complete three written assignments (of about 800 words each) and one final examination.


Evaluation

Three papers 75%
Final Examination 25%

Textbooks

M. H. Abrams, Ed., The Norton Anthology of English Literature. Volume 2. New York: Norton, 1993.


Transferability

UBC English 221, SFU English 206, UVic English 200 (1.5 units)


Instructors

Steve Barnes, B.Sc. (Alberta), M.A. (British Columbia) sbarnes@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Zeferino Cabrita, B.A., B.F.A., M.A. (British Columbia) zcabrita@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Dilek Cansin, B.A. (Macalester College), M.A. (British Columbia) dcansin@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Debra Clarke, B.Sc., M.A., TESL Cert (British Columbia) dclarke@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Julie Karey, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jkarey@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leah Kaser, B.A. (British Columbia), M.Ed. (Lesley College) lkaser@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Angela Lavery, B.A., B.Ed., (Toronto), M.A. (British Columbia) alavery@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Nicola Maher, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (Sussex) nmaher@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Leslie Mercer, B.A. (British Columbia), M.A. (University College Dublin) lmercer@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Denis Roberts, B.A., P.D.P., M.A. (Simon Fraser) droberts@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Jim Smith, B.Ed., M.Ed. (British Columbia), M.A. (Simon Fraser) jsmith@columbiacollege.bc.ca
Gary Swanson, B.A. (Simon Fraser), M.A. (British Columbia) gswanson@columbiacollege.bc.ca